Post 5 – Day 4: More confidence during the service!

This morning 12 km, lunch with pork and potato gateau that they gave me the previous day, caramelized onions, pastry cream and 2 apples.

I had to be at the restaurant at 5 pm and since I had plenty of time, I walked to the train station. But before I went to buy my first stainless steel fry pan for half price, $15 instead of 30:

Image

At 4 I was at the train station and guess what? No train, because there was a mechanical problem! Shit. I took the bus, obviously slower in the traffic and I had to stop about 3 km from the restaurant. From there, 5 minutes to 5, I ran to the restaurant. Crazy.

I apologize to the chef (I had already informed him with an sms) but he smiled at me with a peaceful and easy going Australian smile: “No problem, it’s ok!”.

Despite the bad start the dinner service was quite enjoying. (I believe that when something wrong happen it will be compensate with something positive πŸ˜‰ ).

I started working at 5.25 pm dicing capsicums. I have to say that I love using the knife. Once you learn how to master the chef’s knife, cooking became like a fun game. I can stay 12 hours a day dicing, slicing, mince vegetables. I know that sounds crazy for a “normal” person (that’s because I applied for this job!). But as Thomas Keller said “in the kitchen I love repetition”. Doing the same thing over and over again. Every day a little bit better than the previous. Tonnes of diced onions. Hundreds of butchered fishes. Then after many years you reach the level of “autopilot”. You can do that task without thinking or you can thing about other things in the meanwhile. As a new inspiration for a new dish.
Is the same in running. I can keep a 4’30″/km pace for 20 km without any problem, admire the landscape with a stupid smile on my face while I am doing a mental trip somewhere else around the world. πŸ˜€ For a sedentary person will be the worst experience in life. But reaching this took me many years. I hope to reach the same level in the kitchen.

Anyway, during the service I had to:

  • dice a box of capsicums
  • mash potatoes with a food mill
  • stir the potatoes on the stove with butter and warm milk
  • plate the tomato tart
  • bring hot plates from the oven to the service table when called
  • prepare amuse-bouche soups
  • remove the flesh of cooked aubergines from the skin
  • seal terrines with the vacuum chamber

Chef Y. showed me how to tightly wrap the beef fillet in cling film that had to be frozen for the carpaccio.

Today I felt more confident. Two days ago when the chef called an order I was in panic. What did they call? What entree do I have to prepare?! How many?! Which ingredients do I need for the plating? Which is the sequence for assembling the dish!?
Today I had to watch again to the order on the paper, but I didn’t panic and I stayed calm. No cold blood but almost. πŸ™‚
Once you know exactly what you have to do you became more confident.

At the end of service I had a chat with chef Y. He worked in the best restaurants in Australia, Quay, Sepia and Tetsuya’s!

Then chef A. gave me a box of beef bourguignon. These guys are very nice. πŸ˜€

Next week same roster, Tuesday to Friday from 5 pm!

Leave a Reply

