Post 6 – Day 5: Quite Tuesday evening

Today no office. 12 km in the morning, reading and lunch. Train, library then 5 pm at the restaurant.

Quite night at the garnish section.

As usual we were 5 in the kitchen and 1 in the pastry section. Today I had:

  • peeled pistachios for the day after pork terrine
  • minced shallots
  • prepared 5 tomato tarts
  • plated 2 tomato tarts (I brought the 3 left home :D)
  • plated soups

Chef Y. showed me how to use properly the chef’s knife to mince shallots. And explained me why my knife sucks. 🙂 It it an European style knife with a protection on the handle that doesn’t permit a proper sharpening. I have to buy a new one.

Tonight they said that I have to do something with the duck confit…

Leave a Reply

