Post 12 – Day 11: Service finished early… only for me

Even if I slept less than my usual 8-9 hours I had to ran my 12 km early in the morning because I had a special commitment at 8.30 am: the dentist! In fact last Saturday while I was cleaning my teeth with dental floss I felt a big piece of food coming out… oh no, it wasn’t food but my dental filling! Therefore this morning the dentist re-fill the cavity in 20 minutes for a convenient price of $200. 😀

Anyway, then I had lunch and cycle to the restaurant and I was ready at 4.50 pm. Chefs were resting in the store room, chef Y. told me: “We’re not busy tonight, you can start at 5.30 pm with us”. Fair enough. I read Becasse chef’s A. book that he got from Sydney.

During the service I:

  • chopped chives
  • minced parsley
  • prepared amouse-bouche soups
  • prepared tomato tarts entree
  • prepared charcuterie board entree
  • prepared bouquet garni (2 leek stalks, 2 celery stalks, 3 black peppercorns, 1 bay leave, 3 cloves, bunch of thyme, all wrapped with a wire)

At 9.10 pm the head chef told me: “Nico, you can go in 10 minutes”.

But I preferred to stay longer and clean the benches as chef K. asked me. Then I wrapped the baguettes, dispose the garbage.

Both chefs K. and Y. asked me if I am interested to work in the restaurant. I confirm that. 🙂 Chef K. told me he was an engineer but he quit his job because he wasn’t happy. But he never thought to work in the restaurant business…

I changed my clothes and return in the kitchen to say goodbye to everyone at 9.30 pm when arrived an order for 7 people. I was already all clean and people were ready to go home. I told chef K. that I can prepare the entrees if needed, but he told me for the 3rd time:  “Don’t worry, you can go home”. 🙂

Tomorrow last day of the 3rd week!

Leave a Reply

