Post 16 – Day 15: They taught me how to cook a risotto!

This week I changed routine. I eat dinner at midnight when I come back from the restaurant, do some reading and go to sleep around 2 am. Wake up at 10.30, 12 km running under the Australian sun then cycle to the restaurant where I start working at 5 pm.

Today service time was good, I did the same jobs as the previous days in the garnish section:

  • prepared amuse-bouche soups
  • prepared tomato tarts entrees
  • minced parsley
  • brunoise shallots (chef Y. was frustrated because I am still too slow, I had to prepared 2 boxes of shallots but I did only one :()
  • warmed mashed potatoes
  • moved hot plates from the oven to the service table

They taught me new jobs:

  • heat the soup for the amuse-bouche
  • wrap pork rillettes for the terrine board
  • pre-cook a saffron risotto (a Korean chef teach to an Italian how make a risotto in a French restaurant :D)

Tomorrow last day of the training period!

Leave a Reply

